Write a comment
Pin It

The make up of Newry, Mourne and Down Council has changed following resignations from the Democratic Unionist Party of Rowallane Councillor, Cllr Kathryn Owen and The Mournes Councillor, Cllr Glyn Hanna. The Alliance Party are now the fourth largest party with 2 Councillors.

Both Councillors made their decisions after last weeks South Down DUP Association AGM when Cllr Hanna was removed from the position of Chair. 

Both Councillors are continuing on in their work as independent Councillors which leaves their former party colleague Cllr William Walker, the only remaining DUP Councillor.

The Council is now made up as follows: SDLP: 11, Sinn Féin: 16, UUP: 4, Alliance: 2, DUP: 1 and Independents: 7.

Speaking on the resignations DUP MP Sir Jeffrey Donaldson said "Glyn Hanna and I have been friends since we first entered school together at the age of 5. We served together as comrades in the same UDR company in the Mournes and have remained lifelong friends.Glyn has served the entire community in Mourne and his country with distinction and the treatment he has received on Saturday evening is an absolute disgrace.

Sir Jeffrey continued "Kathryn Owen is a very capable young woman who has served her country in the RAF and whom I encouraged to become active in local politics. The DUP simply cannot afford to lose talented women like Kathryn who has become a councillor in the past couple of years and who has already developed a reputation as a hard working local representative."

Say something here...
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.


Please consider supporting

Amount require Cookies on some parts of our site to enable full functionality. By using you consent to our use of Cookies. You can use your browser settings to disable cookies on this or any other website.