Sinn Féin's Mickey Brady has been re-elected as MP for Newry and Armagh from yesterday’s Westminster Election with results announced at 5am this morning from the count centre in Magherafelt.

Mickey Brady MP
Mickey Brady MP

Turnout was 62.94%. Mr Brady won comfortably with 20,287 votes (down 8% compared to 2017) while nearest opponents William Irwin, DUP took 11,000 votes (-2.9%) The SDLP's Pete Byrne in his first Westminster campaign took 9,449 votes.

In his speech after being elected Mr Brady said "Newry and Armagh has spoken, Brexit has been rejected. The remain parties are in the accendency. Brexit as far as we are concerned is a non-runner." adding "Unity is no longer an aspiration, it is now a project"

2019 Results

Mickey Brady, Sinn Féin 20,287

Pete Byrne, SDLP 9,449

William Irwin, DUP 11,000

Sam Nicholson, UUP 4,204

Jackie Coade, Alliance 4,211

Martin Kelly, Aontú 1,628

2017 results

In 2017 Mickey Brady was elected with 25,666 votes followed by William Irwin on 13,177; Justin McNulty on 9,055; Sam Nicholson on 4,425 and Jackie Coade on 1,256

Pin It


Please consider supporting


FOLLOW NEWRY.IE require Cookies on some parts of our site to enable full functionality. By using you consent to our use of Cookies. You can use your browser settings to disable cookies on this or any other website.