The Southern Health and Social Care Trust have appointed three newly appointed Non Executive Directors to the Trust Board.

The three Geraldine Donaghy, Pauline Leeson and Martin McDonald were appointed to our Board by the Health Minister, Michelle O"Neill from 1 January 2017 for a maximum period of four years.

The three new non executive Directors to the Southern Health and Social Care Trust. From left: Pauline Leeson, Geraldine Donaghy and Martin McDonald.
The three new Non Executive Directors to the Southern Health and Social Care Trust. From left: Pauline Leeson, Geraldine Donaghy and Martin McDonald.

The HSC Trusts were established as statutorily separate organisations within the HSC family, responsible for the delivery of responsive and effective health and care services and for the ownership and management of hospitals and other establishments and facilities.

They provide health and social care services against Ministerial priorities, standards and targets.  Services are provided as specified in contracts with the commissioners of health and care services, namely the Health and Social Care Board.  This may include Trusts exercising certain statutory functions, principally in the field of social services, on behalf of the HSC Board.  Although Trusts are statutorily separate organisations, they are an integral part of the HSC and are expected to deliver against an agenda set by the Minister and performance managed by the Department and HSC Board.

Each Health and Social Care Trust is managed directly by a board of directors which has corporate responsibility for its operation.  A board is made up of five Executive Directors, seven Non-Executive Directors and a Non-Executive Chair. 

Each Director gets £7,960 per annum for a time commitment of 1 day per week.



Geraldine Donaghy was formerly Chief Executive of the Confederation of Community Groups, Newry & Mourne and until recently was a Trustee with the Community Foundation N.I. She has previously served as a Non Executive Director with the RQIA (Regulation Quality & Improvement Authority) and as a Non Executive Director on Warrenpoint Harbour Authority. Ms Donaghy has also wide experience in governance and compliance within public and voluntary sector organisations and is currently a Charities Commissioner with the Charities Commission N.I.

Pauline Leeson is a Social Worker and Chief Executive for Children in Northern Ireland, the regional network for the children’s sector. She is an Independent Member of the Lisburn and Castlereagh Policing and Community Safety Partnership and was awarded CBE in 2013 for services to children in Northern Ireland.

Martin McDonald BSc (Econ), Dip.T.P.MBE commenced his career with local government in 1973 and went on to work in the Town & Country Planning Service and the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development. Martin has been a key figure in the development and implementation of major rural development initiatives and joined the NI Rural Development Council as Chief Executive in 1999. He has also worked with the International Fund for Ireland extending his experience into urban areas, particularly with projects that have a clear focus upon reconciliation. He is a member of the NI Heritage Lottery Fund and also acts as a non-executive director on the NI Fisheries Harbour Authority. Martin is a former director and Chair of Newry Credit Union. He was awarded an MBE for Services to Regeneration.


The Northern Health and Social Care Trust also appointed local man Gerard Mc Givern, former Director of District Development with Newry and Mourne District Council. Gerard had responsibility for economic development and tourism, community services, sports, recreation and arts development, Irish language, Ulster Scots and museum services. During this period Gerard also pioneered a series of cross border economic development initiatives which culminated in the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding between Newry and Mourne District Council and Louth Local Authorities in 2011. Gerard is currently Chairman of the Livestock and Meat Commission and is also a Director of Banbridge District Enterprises Ltd and a Governor of Grange Primary School, Kilkeel.


Pin It


Please consider supporting


FOLLOW NEWRY.IE require Cookies on some parts of our site to enable full functionality. By using you consent to our use of Cookies. You can use your browser settings to disable cookies on this or any other website.