Young Craobh Rua Hurlers Tyrone Tournament Victory

Craobh Rua Under 10 hurling team made their own bit of local sporting history when they travelled to Carrickmore County Tyrone to complete in the home Club’s prestigious Féile An Fhómhair tournament and returned back home as  winners of the Pláta an Fhómhair.

Teams from top hurling clubs throughout Ulster participated in the event.  

The young Craobh Rua Camlocha Under 10 hurlers were placed in the same Group as  Kevin Lynchs, Swatragh & Lavey (all Derry), Naomh Éanna (Antrim) and Naomh Colm Cille (Tyrone). 

From that very tough group Craobh Rua qualified for the Plate semi final and were up against more Derry opposition in Na Magha. 

The successful Craobh Rua Under 10 team
The successful Craobh Rua Under 10 team

Both teams were very evenly matched and after going score for score right through, it was no surprise the game ended in a draw. In extra time it was ‘first score is the winner’. 

Our young hurlers showed great determination and commitment boy and after some fantastic work rate, secured the score that took them through to the final. 

In the final Craobh Rua played host club Éire Óg Carrickmore. 

Craobh Rua  started really well and raced into a 2 goal lead at half time, but Éire Óg worked their way back into the game in the second half and with the last puck of the ball, scored a goal to level the game. 

Nathan O Callaghan accepts the Shield on behalf of his Craobh Rua Team
Nathan O Callaghan accepts the Shield on behalf of his Craobh Rua Team

This group of talented and committed young hurlers faced extra time again, during which both teams had chances to win it, but the Camlough lads got the all important score to win the plate. 

Everyone of our squad played their part in securing this prestigious win and it will be a sporting achievement that they should all be rightly proud of. 

Our club want to thank Carrickmore  for the invite to the tournament, which was an enjoyable and well organised day of sport.

The Craobh Rua Under 10  Team 

Jack Bradley, Jack Taylor, Jamie McAleavey, Ryan McAleavey, Ronan Watters, Cealan Powell, Ryan Powell, Conor Byrne, Nathan O’Callaghan, Fiachra Crossan, Paudie Tavey & Eoin McEldowney.

Pin It


Please consider supporting


FOLLOW NEWRY.IE require Cookies on some parts of our site to enable full functionality. By using you consent to our use of Cookies. You can use your browser settings to disable cookies on this or any other website.